After an excellent feedback from the I Belgrade Open pre-moot held in 2008, the Faculty of Law decided to continue organizing this event. 2009 Belgrade rounds took place from 28 to 29 March 2009 and gathered 17 teams from 14 countries (New Zealand, Singapore, Russia, United States, Mexico, Spain, Austria, United Kingdom, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, FYR Macedonia, Romania, Albania). More than 70 renowned lawyers, practitioners and professors from all over the world (Serbia, South Africa, United States, United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Germany, Austria, etc.) served as arbitrators and more than 50 hearings were held in just two days. II Belgrade Open was held on 28-29 March 2009 and was preceded by an Arbitration Conference, which took place on 27 March. The Belgrade Open Pre-Moot was a unique opportunity for the public to see how the arbitral proceedings really look like, since a typical arbitration is strictly confidential. For a short video from II Belgrade Open click here>>  1 2


The Faculty is particularly proud of the fact that 10 out of 17 teams that took part at the Belgrade Open Pre-Moot qualified for the elimination rounds (top 64 teams) at the Vienna Moot, including the winner of the Moot – Victoria Wellington University. What is more, all the four semi-finalists from the last year’s Vienna Moot participated at this year’s Belgrade Open. These results are the best proof of quality of the Belgrade Pre-Moot. A special acknowledgement of high appreciation for the Belgrade Open Pre-Moot came from UNCITRAL – Belgrade rounds were the only Pre-Moot out of several similar events organized throughout the world which was listed in the CLOUT Bulletin, the official UNCITRAL publication which presents the most important developments in the field of international trade law and commercial arbitration.



The first Belgrade Open was held from 7-9 March 2008 and has attracted a number of excellent teams from the best universities worldwide and some of the leading scholars and practitioners in the field of Arbitration and International Commercial Law. We are proud of the fact that three of the four best teams in the last year’s competition (2007/2008) participated at the Belgrade Open. In addition, 12 more faculties from 10 different countries were also present at the pre-moot.

List of participating teams at the 1st Belgrade Open includes: Vienna (Austria), Touro and Denver (USA), Wellington (New Zealand), New South Wales (Australia), Novosibirsk (Russia), Kyev Mohilla (Ukraine), CEU (Hungary), Zagreb and Rijeka (Croatia), Ljubljana (Slovenia), Belgrade (Serbia), and the following observing participants: Sarajevo (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Justinijan I Skopje (Macedonia) and Tirana (Albania).